If It Can`t be Snowboarded, the Clampitts Don`t Go, But…..

others do. This post is brought to you by a number of others. Namely Apple and one of my latest favorite blogs Rocket News 24.

During one of my weekly trips to the Apple store to replace various shattered Iphone screens, I actually stopped to look at the stunning picture for the Mac Book Pro. Certainly some of you have seen it….

I then “hurumphed” my way upstairs certain that the blue water had been enhanced professionally by Instagram or some other ubiquitous program used on Facebook. Perhaps one of the many I used to make myself impersonate a supermodel in the summer beach pics. So digitally enhanced I`m no longer recognizable as myself but could be a stunt double for any number of Hollywood brunettes. (I will post them on Facebook so those who haven`t seen me in a long time will think I finally moved out of my awkward phase- Naaaa- just kidding)

Anyway, one day by the plastic pool in the back yard I happened to be catching up with one of my favorite Japanese blogs- Rocket News 24. Written by a group of hip Japanese twenty-somethings. They explain all sorts of interesting Asian related pop culture topics. Some not G rated just so you know. In it, I find that this beautiful scene is not only authentic, it is located in Biei, Hokkaido Japan. One of our favorite snowboarding locations. We`ll never see it because there`s no snowboarding in this particular part of Hokkaido, but- they sent a “roving reporter” up to check on the actual blueness of the water.

Here`s what Masterblaster from RocketNews 24 found out:

View Here

View the original photo (and download as wallpaper) taken by photographer Kent Shiraishi and submitted to National Geographic here.

This entry was posted in Moving to Japan and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If It Can`t be Snowboarded, the Clampitts Don`t Go, But…..

  1. vanetua says:

    Right on! That is such a beautiful photograph.

    Like

  2. Wow! I don’t know what else to say. Wow! Thanks for sharing this, Emily! May the Blue be with you!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    Like

  3. Gregory says:

    Heya fantastic website! Does running a blog like this take a large amount of work?
    I’ve absolutely no understanding of programming however I had been hoping to
    start my own blog in the near future. Anyways, if you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off subject but I simply wanted to ask.

    Thank you!

    Like

Leave a comment